Nexus Clash

Login

Nickname

Password

Don't have an account yet? You can create one. Registered players can create up to three free characters to battle, team up with your friends and explore the worlds of the Nexus! To create a character once you have registered, click on Game Map at the top of the page.
Nexus Clash :: View topic - Fears and thoughts about making a game similar to this one
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fears and thoughts about making a game similar to this one

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Badziew

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:56 am    Post subject: Fears and thoughts about making a game similar to this one Reply with quote

I am a programmer.
In fact I spent most of my career making web applications
Long time ago, in my student times, I even made a browser game (although it was not really popular nor balanced nor well-designed at all).
I still sometimes dream about making a game again, and my recent return to Nexus Clash re-ignited that flame even more.

So it is quite probable that I will indeed start making a browser game in next few months.

And the problem is: I feel somehow "corrupted" by Nexus War / Nexus Clash universe.

Jorm (and, later, authors of this continuation) made a really good work in "rationalizing" game mechanics as in-game lore.

How to explain periodic game-overs and resets? Breaths.
How to explain that PCs can respawn? Fighting souls.
How to explain that PC morality do matter? Angels, Demons and Elder Powers.

These are just some examples I could think of in first few seconds, I am sure there are more good, tiny design ideas lurking somewhere - and if/when I would make my own game, I would inevitably "borrow" some of them, either consciously or unconsciously. They are just so good.

Which might make my game look (at least at first glance) like a cheap clone or rip-off.